Row Wrapper 2

Schaffner Cabin

4.8000
(20 Reviews)

Capacity

2 Bedrooms
1.75 Bath
Sleeps 8

Search Availability

About

Now partnered with Xplorie! Free activities every day of your stay when you book with Grand Mountain Rentals!!

*Summer 2021 this home will have all new furniture, flooring, and paint from top to bottom!

*This cabin is located in the Town of Grand Lake, NOT Estes Park**

This cozy 2 bedroom and 1.75 bath home with loft is perfect for those in search of an affordable mountain getaway. Every modern convenience for your stay including a full kitchen with dishwasher, washer/dryer, cable TV and new front and back decks to take in mountain views. The high ceilings and sky lights create a spacious feel while the decor makes you feel right at home. Recently renovated to include a new, spacious dining area. The loft area has a double sofa sleeper. WiFi Included!

*This home does have a view from the back deck of the burn scar from the East Troublesome Fire in October 2020. The view from the front of the home where another deck area is located was not impacted*

Policies:
- Minimum age requirement to rent this home is 21
- This home is NOT pet friendly - No Exceptions will be made
- This home is Non Smoking

“Columbine Lake is a private, covenant-controlled community. Renters are not allowed to use the clubhouse, gazebo, horse pasture, OHVs or Columbine Lake.” Plan on using one of the other three lakes (Grand, Granby and Shadow Mountain) for all your lake activities.”. Keep in mind when booking, that this property is located in a quiet neighborhood with owner residents.

Cancellation Policy:
Cancellations made prior to 30 days of your arrival date for stays of 6 nights or less will incur a $50 cancellation fee and forfeit the non-refundable booking fee. Cancellations of reservations of 7 nights or more, prior to 30 days before your arrival date incur a $200 cancellation fee and forfeit the non-refundable booking fee. For cancellations within 30 days of arrival date the entire amount is non-refundable for all reservations.

Refundable Security Deposit:
Per your reservation, the refundable security deposit is due 30 days prior to reservation. Deposits with no violations will be refunded in full 7 business days after departure. Additionally, allow 24-72+ hours for banking institutions to initiate and complete credit card refunds. Grand Mountain Rentals is not responsible for this process and has no authority over the amount of time banking institutions require to complete this process. Deposits in cases of excessive cleaning fees, damages to property, smoking and pet violations, etc., will be held at the discretion of management.

Winter Arrival:
Please be prepared before beginning your drive to Grand Lake! Four wheel drive or all wheel drive vehicles are highly recommended. Although the main roads are usually plowed well, many residential areas require traversing steep hills on dirt roads that are not as maintained. Keep in mind that chain and traction laws for non-commercial vehicles can be put into effect at any time. We do not advise driving Berthoud Pass in a front-wheel drive vehicle unless you a comfortable putting chains on yourself. Weather and driving conditions may change rapidly. We cannot accommodate weather-related refunds, please plan accordingly.

Welcome to Grand Mountain Rentals! We're a locally owned business serving Grand Lake for almost 30 years. With a select group of properties, we are committed to fulfilling your lodging and vacation needs. We offer a wide variety of accommodations including single-family mountain homes, quintessential Colorado cabins and condos with lake views. All of our properties are within a 10 minute drive of both Rocky Mountain National Park and Grand Lake. We also offer pet-friendly lodging choices.

For additional information, please visit the websites of the Grand Lake Chamber of Commerce and Visit Grand County.

Features

Amenities

  • Full Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee Maker
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Cookware
  • Dishwasher
  • Crock Pot
  • Waffle Maker
  • Rice Maker
  • Kettle
  • Mixer
  • Dutch Oven
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washer & Dryer
  • Ironing Board
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Deck
  • Gas Grill
  • Cable TV
  • DVD Player
  • WiFi

Location

  • Columbine Lake Area
  • Out of Town
  • Mountain View
  • Columbine Lake

Bedding Configuration

  • Queen
  • Sofa Bed
  • Bunk

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
September 2021
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2021
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2021
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2021
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
May 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Map

Reviews

Shaffner Cabin

August 2021
, Chandler, AZ United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had a great time and the cabin was wonderful! I lived in Grand Lake in the 70s and 80s and it was so nice to be back, but to be a bit out of town. We loved seeing the wildlife right by the cabin!

Manager's Response

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed a great few weeks in this cabin! We hope to see you again!

Comfy Cabin in a Great Location

July 2021
, Mechanicsville, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

My family and I enjoyed an excellent stay in the comfortable, clean, and charming Shaffner Cabin. Its location is extremely convenient to RMNP and the town of Grand Lake. After adventurous days exploring, it was nice to come "home" to a nice place that included a well-appointed kitchen and plenty of room for the family to unwind. We would absolutely love to stay there again.

Manager's Response

Hi Michelle! We are so happy to hear this home felt so comfortable to come back to after a day of venturing and enjoying the area! We hope you have a great rest of your summer and we certainly look forward to having you back!

Great vacation retreat

July 2021
, Decatur, IL United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Our family enjoyed our stay in Grand Lake. The office was conveniently located and the staff was very friendly. The accommodations at the cabin were outstanding. Great location and amenities to visit Rocky Mountain National Park. Would highly recommend.

Manager's Response

Hi Andy! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed this home and had a great experience at our office with our staff! We hope to see you again in the future! Have a great rest of the summer!

Lovely Visit to Grand Lake

July 2021
, Valparaiso, IN United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5

We had an excellent rental experience. Very clear communication and easy check-in. The cabin was a good value and very well decorated and appointed. Peaceful coexistence with wildlife too! A moose grazed next to the cabin one day and a deer the next. Located in a nearby private development but only a 5 minute drive to downtown Grand Lake. Recommended!

Manager's Response

Hi Lee! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the quiet and coziness of this cabin as well as your experience checking in! We hope to see you back in the future!

Wonderful experience

June 2021
, Arvada, CO United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Was concerned that there might be too many steps for my Dad to navigate...not so! 3 easy steps to the front deck and he used the main floor bedroom and bathroom...perfect. The only thing he mentioned for older folks (he is 90) is that the tub was really tall for him to step in and out of. The shower upstairs would have been easier but the stairs to get there were many.
Great place..easy to find, quiet, clean and convenient.

Manager's Response

We are so happy to hear this home was a great fit for your stay and your dad was still able to enjoy it as well! We hope to see you again in the future!

October getaway

October 2020
, Parker, CO United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Had a great experience. The rental company was clear in their instructions and had plenty of useful information. The cabin/house was clean and in excellent shape and we thoroughly enjoyed our October getaway. Thank you!

Manager's Response

So glad that you had a wonderful stay at Schaffner Cabin! We sure hope that you come back and stay with us again in the future. Thank you!

Very comfy and great location

August 2020
, Austin, TX United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
4

Great location. Only 5 minute drive to Grand Lake and less than that to entrance to RMNP. Well-stocked kitchen. Comfortable furniture and bed.

Manager's Response

Happy to hear you liked the location of this cute cabin! We hope you return in the future!

Columbine schnaffner cabin

July 2020
, Sedona, AZ US

Overall
3
Services from rental manager
3
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
3

We came to socially distance with our family who live in grand lake. Enjoyed the cabin’s easy access to the park and the lakes. It’s great for a couple or small family and was outfitted with everything you’d need to cook. Overall the cabin is in need of a thorough cleaning of kitchen bath and all contact surfaces. In era of covid cabin should be spotless. Sense a lack of attention by owner or manager.

Manager's Response

We do remember you coming into the office and complaining about crumbs in the kitchen drawers and dust on top of the heater, which clearly hasn't been used in months. We would not equate either of these items to the cleanliness and/or overall sanitation of the home. Our cleaners are taking every precaution necessary during this time as we explained to you when you came into our office to bring the crumbs to our attention. This home just had a professional carpet cleaning as well. Traveling is not for everyone during this time and if you have overly extensive concerns that hinder you from enjoying your trip, perhaps that is the issue here.

Great location, just needs a thorough cleaning

July 2020
, Flower Mound, TX United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
3

Location was perfect for access to both Rocky Mountain National Park and Grand Lake. The size of the cabin was perfect for our family of 4. Property manager was responsive and helpful. Inside the cabin itself I noticed a lot of dust on many surfaces, and some pots/pans on the shelf that were not fully cleaned.

Manager's Response

Hi Becky, it seems like you enjoyed your stay overall! Unfortunately this home is located on a dirt road and here in the mountains dust is very prevalent. Pots and pans are also to be cleaned by guests, the cleaners just don't have time rewash all of the cookware in the home. We are glad that pots and pans are an easy fix and can be quickly recleaned if needed.

Great Grand Lake Cabin

December 2019
, Aurora, CO United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Beautiful cabin, super spacious and has that secluded feeling for a great vacation with family. The loft upstairs it’s a great space with additional beds and a second bathroom. Location to town and stores was less than give minutes.

Manager's Response

The Schaffner Cabin is a great little home and we're glad to hear you appreciated your time here, we hope to have you return sometime!

Schaffner Cabin

October 2019
, Manhattan, ks United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5

Our fall trip to Grand Lake was made easy with a very nice stay in this cabin. The home is very comfortable and clean. We had everything we needed.

Manager's Response

We're glad you enjoyed your stay at the Schaffner Cabin! Hope to have you back again in the future.

Grand Lake

July 2019
, Manhattan, ks United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Filled our needs perfectly. Had everything we needed except food. Couldn't ask for more. Would definitely stay again.

Manager's Response

Very happy to hear you had such a wonderful time! We look forward to seeing you in Grand Lake again, the Schaffner cabin is waiting you!

Grand Lake

July 2019
, Manhattan, ks United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Filled our needs perfectly. Had everything we needed except food. Couldn't ask for more. Would definitely stay again.

Manager's Response

Very happy to hear you had such a wonderful time! We look forward to seeing you in Grand Lake again, the Schaffner cabin is waiting you!

Nice Getaway!!!

July 2019
, Kearney, NE United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Our family of 7 had a great time at this cabin. It worked very well for our needs, and it let us relax and have a good time.

Manager's Response

We're so glad to hear you and the family enjoyed your stay at the Schaffner Cabin, we'd love to have you again!

Grand Lake Cabin

July 2018
, Kansas City, MO United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

We enjoyed our stay very much. The proximity to town was perfect and we enjoyed having a nice area to take walks in the morning and evening around the lake.

Manager's Response

Sounds like you had a great vacation. Thanks for staying with us.

Grand Lake Cabin

July 2018
, Kansas City, MO United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

We enjoyed our stay very much. The proximity to town was perfect and we enjoyed having a nice area to take walks in the morning and evening around the lake.

Manager's Response

Sounds like you had a great vacation. Thanks for staying with us.

Wonderful Columbine Lake Cabin

July 2017
, Prairie Village, KS United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

This was a marvelous well equipped remodeled cabin nestled in a quiet, mountain and lake location close to the town of Grand Lake.

great get away

August 2015
, Denver, CO United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
3

We had a very pleasant stay. The cabin was just what we required. Very clean, very orderly and the copious kitchen utensils made sure that mama got her wine bottle open and papa got to create an amazing dinner dish with the fresh porcinis harvested from the forest!
Great location, very close to the town of grand lake and still much quieter and reserved.

Manager's Response

Happy you liked the cabin and found the wine bottle opener! Schaffner is a terrific home in a serene setting. Hope you come and stay again!

Fantastic Stay!

July 2015
, Jacksonville, FL United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

This rental was perfect for us. Great location near the national park. And having a moose visitor in the morning was the highlight.

Manager's Response

Thanks for the great review. We think Schaffner is a great cabin! So happy you had the moose visiting in the morning - that is a special thing to see!

cozy cabin

July 2015
, South Jordan, UT United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

This was a very great home base we used to go hiking. It was very clean well equippelt and had a nice dcor. I would recommend it for 2 adults or more ( one bed, two hide-a-beds) and it would be great accomodations for a family with up to 6 children. Location is beautiful.

Manager's Response

Thank you for the nice review! We are so happy you enjoyed the cabin and Grand Lake! Hope you get a chance to come back and visit again!